It’s Hot Down South..

So I just got home from Alabama and I’m now packing to spend two weeks at the Jersey shore with my family. Somehow all the running I have to do while I’m down there doesn’t sound so bad when I get to lay out on the beach all day after I finish… 🙂

I did my longest run so far in Alabama last weekend… 8 miles! It was brutally hot and so so hard but I finished! Me, Dad, and my brother David all woke up at 6 am to beat the heat. I took off on my run and Dad and David went down the street to run Jones Valley Hill. The name is nowhere near as daunting as the hill itself. David ran hills until he couldn’t move his legs anymore and my dad drove back and forth, motivating and pushing the two of us. When David finished, I still had about 3 miles to go and I was dying. My legs were lead. So my wonderful father and brother sat in their air conditioned car with their ice cold water, and followed me around the neighborhood to keep me motivated (It was 7:30 AM and already almost 90 degrees at this point -__-). But really, they were great. They kept me going when I would have stopped, and David even got out and ran the last mile with me – what a sweetie! By the end, we were absolutely soaked. Then right after I finished, I put on my bathing suit, grabbed a raft, and took a solid 2 hour nap in my grandma’s pool… not a bad morning at all 🙂 Here’s some pictures!

Image

Image

Image

Image

I love running with my Nike+ running app! It keeps track of time, mileage, calories, speed, where I run and how I felt about it, and it also encourages me and plays my music – so cool!

Don’t forget to donate!! www.crowdrise.com/witnessny2012/fundraiser/jenniferrobbins

Leave a Reply

