Words of Wisdom

“The finish line is the same for all runners. How we get there and what we do along the way are what matters most. The journey defines us.” – Bill Katovsky

“Just move your legs. Because if you don’t think you were born to run, you’re not only denying history; you’re denying who you are.” – Dr. Dennis Bramble

“Have you ever felt worse after a run?” – George Sheehan

“When we run, we are already so exposed, often nearly naked in our shorts and t-shirts, huffing and puffing, purified by the effort. Briefly removed from the defenses and secrets we maintain in so much of our lives, we feel less need to hide our private thoughts, loves, fears, and stresses. We share.” – Amy Burfoot

“If I don’t run, I’ll get fat again.” – Dave Low

“It’s very hard in the beginning to understand that the whole idea is not to beat the other runners. Eventually you learn that the competition is against the little voice inside you that wants to quit.” – George Sheehan

“Except for .001 percent of the running population, everyone’s in the exact same position: There will always be people slower than you, and people faster.” – Runners World, “Ask Miles”

“There is an expression among even the most advanced runners that getting your shoes on is the hardest part of any workout.” – Kathrine Switzer

These pearls of wisdom are from a book of runners quotes that my best friend Jenn gave to me shortly after I decided to run this marathon. I love reading through them and just thought I’d share a couple with you all. I got all my short runs in this week and am resting today to get ready for my 16 mile run tomorrow (eek!). This is going to be my first long run since my injury so my goal is just to finish.. just get it done and I’ll work on getting better at it on the next long run. Also, I have some new donors to thank!! You all have been so awesome and generous and I’d like to hugely thank the Porter family and the Salandra family! Thank you so much!!! I am now OVER $1,000!!! So just 2 months left to raise $2,000. We can do this!!

To donate, visit my fundraising page at www.crowdrise.com/witnessnyc2012/fundraiser/jenniferrobbins.

To learn more about WITNESS, go to www.witness.org.

Thanks everyone!!

Leave a Reply

