November 10, 2012 – Richmond Marathon!

I cannot even begin to explain how amazing Saturday was for me! To everyone who has not heard, I finished the race 🙂 It took me 5:22 and I could not stop smiling the entire time. My family, Joe, and my roommates came down to support me and I got to see them so many times during the race. I kept pushing myself to just make it to the next mile that they would be at. I just kept doing that and then all of a sudden I had finished the race! I have never experienced anything like the feeling I had afterwards and I am already looking at what race I will do next! All in all, the training, the preparing, the injuries, the tears, the highs, the lows, and this race have all been a part of the most amazing experience of my life. I learned so much about myself and I got to see all the people in my life that love and support me. I feel so blessed! And I am so so happy to be able to say that I have run a marathon! There are ten million more things I want to write about that day but I will save that for another time. I am happy to know that I set my mind to something challenging and I accomplished it. If I can do this, anyone can! Thank you to everyone who helped me get here!!!!!!!

One of my favorite things about the race was all the funny signs that people on the side held up to cheer on the runners. I wrote down a few of my favorite ones so I could share them with you all:

“If it were easy, it would be called your mom!”

“You trained for this longer than Kim Kardashian was married.”

“Running is a mental sport. YOU ARE INSANE!”

“Your perspiration is our inspiration.”

“Run like you stole something!”

“That’s not sweat, that’s your fat cells crying.”

“Run, strange person, run!”

“May the odds be ever in your favor.”

“Should we be scared of what you’re all running from?”

“Only 25.7 to go!”

“Chafe now, brag forever.”

“RVA loves NYC’s runners!”

“I don’t even like to drive 26.2 miles!”

And here are a few pictures from the day 🙂 (They get bigger if you click on them.)

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

